The proverbial-myths I’d like to break.

This is one of those times, where I feel strongly about something. Some sayings, some beliefs are downright stupid and mislead people! Don’t believe everything you read, experience is what counts and with what little experience I’ve had, this is what I’ve realised over time!
These are just my thoughts. Uncensored!
-Myths

1. Honesty is the best policy.
Whoever said this, did not take into consideration that if everyone adopted this policy, then it would all be chaos.
TOTAL honesty is the worst idea ever. There are situations where THAT honesty hurts feelings, creates barriers and destroys relationships.
Don’t agree with me? Try telling your kid that his sibling is your favourite child. Or better, try giving your friends a list of their habits that annoy you.

2. Always respect your elders/ with age comes wisdom!
Respect only those who deserve your respect. Age is not synonymous with WISDOM.
Respect your parents, respect those who you look up to..
Yeah sure, but no one can make me respect the ones who don’t respect me.
Before you get in a frenzy, mind you, not being respectful and being disrespectful are two DIFFERENT things.
So pardon me (or not) if you are mean to me and I don’t touch your feet. It’s a two-way street, and right now I wish someone driving a truck,rode over you on THAT street.

3. Keep your friends close and your enemies closer.
Uhm.. No thanks. Maybe this saying was quoted at a time when enemies were cuter?
How suicidal is this thought?
If you desire to get demotivated, undermined and then ultimately turn into a pessimist, then my friend, do keep your enemies closer. And while you’re doing that why don’t you keep a knife under your pillow, wear a bracelet made of thorns, and keep a porcupine as a pet.

4. Do for others before doing for yourself.
How in the world are you supposed to help others when you can’t even help yourselves?
It is stupid to even think that you can inspire others when you haven’t accomplished anything worth getting inspired from.
People are inspired by your actions, not your words.
So first, get a grip, build a life, stand on your own feet then start helping others so that you are able to give your 100%.

5. There are only two types of people – Good or bad.
So I wanna help the poor and thus I am gonna rob the rich.
DUDE, you Robin Hood, but I can’t decide if you bad or good?
People unlike clothes, cannot be put into boxes. One cannot categorise people as good or bad. People aren’t black or white, they are grey.
Intentions are good or bad, the dress you are wearing can be lovely or disgusting, your taste can be excellent or horrible but people are complex.

I could go on, but that’s all for now.
If you liked this, do Follow and share 🙂
-M

11 comments

  1. Saiyam Jain · December 1, 2014

    That enemy one is too good! 😁

    Like

  2. Ashutosh · December 2, 2014

    Too Good this one was especially the first two points.. Great work 👍 Keep it up 🙂

    Like

    • Manasvi · December 2, 2014

      Thank you, those are my favourite too 😀

      Like

  3. harshita agarwal · December 2, 2014

    N its woww…
    That enemy point…too good..!!
    Nailed it!!😉

    Like

  4. Nishant Sondhi · December 2, 2014

    Superb….people digest these things as universal truth and there comes Manasvi :p 😉 …..what an amazing version of these proverbs have you presented ! And if with that experience you write this…I just can only wonder if you have a bag of experience where the heck will you reach….amazing yaaaaa 😉

    Like

    • Manasvi · December 2, 2014

      Haha, I try my best 😉
      Thanks a ton 😀

      Like

  5. Garima Jain · May 13

    Reblogged this on perferviddreams and commented:
    A different perspective towards life..!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Emilio Pasquale · September 12

    I hate to argue with you but…, no…, I’m not going to argue with you! 🙂

    Like

  7. sheik · October 25

    I like the good or bad one

    Like

Leave a Reply

